January 29, 2015: A Great American Hero

The large man sits, holding a gun in one hand, and trying to stop the flow of blood from his stomach with the other.

You can tell a lot about a man by the way he shoots. I may have shot low…but I’m a man who always shoots true, whether I mean to or not.

His friend, named Carpenter, lay at his feet with an unbroken mug of beer.

I thought I was aiming at the glass…

His broad shoulders slump and he closes his eyes.

My good friend Talbot shot me though…ah…I deserved it…ain’t goin’ to deny that.

He takes a long drink of his whiskey and stares out the window.

Mike has a bad reputation amongst most people, but his few friends only have nice things to say.
He’s a fighter. A brawler, is more apt. Always ready for a punch-up.

Yeah, I like to fight…I put a little red feather in my hat every time I win.

His knuckles are big, jagged. His nose is bent and his smile lopsided.
Some revere him as a great American Hero. Stories from when he was a scout, when he was working the river boats, the time he stole a bunch of sheep.

This man may have been great, once upon a time.
Now he sits here, whiskey-drunk, punch-drunk and a murderer, shot by his own friend.

If you think I’m anything less than an American hero, boy, look again. I’m one hundred percent American through and through. Mind, body, and actions.

Leave a Reply

