February 2, 2015: Soul Journey

The taxi pulled up just as it started to snow.
It was late, I was feeling a sickness creep on, shivering under my hat and coat.

You’re lucky I found you. It’s getting not so pleasant out there. Where to?

I mumbled something and curled into the corner, pressing against the door.

Ah, you’re going to be one of those passengers, eh? That’s okay. We all need a ride like this sometimes.

He pulled away from the curb and into traffic.

I know what’s wrong with you. You’re soul-sick. The winter does that to some people.

The street lights began to turn on, and the taxi drove faster.

I looked out the window. The snow was streaking by, illuminated by orange lights.

I had no idea where I was.

Don’t worry about the scenery. This is a special short cut. One hundred percent guaranteed to get you to where you need to be.

I started to shiver.
I caught the drivers reflection in the rear view mirror. Dark eyes and a bright smile. He was oddly reassuring.

How you feeling back there? It’s probably going to hurt more soon…but that’s okay. It really is. It’s part of the process. Just try to relax and breathe through it. You’ll get through this, I promise.

I watched the city fly by outside the window. I knew where I was, I knew the buildings, but they seemed different. Shadows of familiar places and landmarks.
My fever broke and the taxi began to slow down.

This is the end of it. And, look, right where you needed to be, yes?

The snow fell lightly, and the shadows began to recede.
The moon was partially hidden behind clouds, but it was enough to illuminate the sign in front of me.

Looks like you have some work to do, boy-o.

I brushed snowflakes off of my coat and pushed my way into Strange News Editorial offices.

Leave a Reply

