May 20, 2015: Where and How Fast?

“Where are you?” She asks me as she stirs her coffee.
“I’m right here.” My hands spread out, gesturing around the small room.

“How fast are you going?”
“As fast as I can.”
“Where are you going?”
“Where I need to be.”
“Where are you?”
“I’m right here.”
“How fast are you going?”

We stare at each other.
The silence ringing out in harmony.

“I’m not here. I’m in motion.”
“Oh yeah?”
“Yes. I’m moving forward at all times. Constantly reaching.”
“How fast are you moving?”
“Faster than the universe allows.”

I smile.
She looks down and takes a sip from her still steaming coffee.

“What are you doing here?”
“Trying to keep moving.”
“You’re not present.”
“I’m in motion. I can’t be here.”
“If you were here?”
“I wouldn’t be moving.”

I play with my empty coffee cup.

“If you were to look into where you are? Experience the here and now?”
“Then I would lose sight of where I was going.”
And if you were to fully focus on where you are going?”
“Then I would not be here with you.”

She picks at the cold scrambled eggs on her plate.

“Where is the balance?”
“I don’t know. I feel out of harmony.”
“You need creation.”
“…and annihilation.”
“Balance. Harmony. You need to be present and moving at the same time.”

She smiles again, a smile that wrinkles her nose.
I smell cherries.

“Where are you?” She asks, beginning the exercise again.
“I’m right here, and I’m moving forward. I’m both.”

Leave a Reply

